The Muscogee (Creek) Nation Higher Education Scholarship Foundation Program hosted the 2nd Annual “Swing for Education” Benefit Golf Tournament on September 4, 2015 at the Fountainhead Creek Golf Course located in Checotah, Oklahoma.

The Tournament was classified as a 4 person scramble at $400.00 a team with lunch, cart & green fees included with registration at 8:00 AM and Shotgun Start at 9:00 AM. We had 25 teams in attendance with golfers from all over the state of Oklahoma as well as from Kansas. In attendance were National Council Representatives, Cabinet, Members of the Foundation, as well as Employees of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation.

Our main focus for this event is to raise scholarships for Muscogee Creek students and also to connect with other organizations for the opportunity to market and promote the Scholarship Foundation Program. We made a connection with over 20 Business’s in addition to other people of the golfing community. We had made a great impression on the teams that had participated in the tournament; we heard good things about the course, food and most of all the shirts and gifts we provided to the golfers. The 18th Hole-In-One prize provided by James Hodge Chevrolet of Okmulgee was a 2016 Chevrolet Silverado, which was a big hit with all the participants. We had other contests that took place in the tournament, such as the Longest Drive and Closest to the Pin in which we presented a Driver and Wedge for the prizes. Dixon Golf also had a set-up on hole #3 and #15 for prizes: a sleeve of golf balls, gift certificates and hats.

Overall, the people were satisfied with the tournament not only as it is a sport that they enjoy, but for a great cause to give back to the community through educational purposes.

Our founding Committee members for this event are: Tournament Chair – Nathan Barnett; Vice Tournament Chair – Dr. Pete G. Coser; Corporation/Sponsorship & Donation Co-Chairs – Nathan Barnett & Pete Coser; Golfer Chair – Jon Overacker; Prize/Gift Chair – Kryste Benge; Volunteer Chair – April Fields; Marketing & PR Chair – Jason Salsman; and Hospitality & Event Operations Chair – Geebon Gouge.